Hollywood How to Remake A Movie: Evil Dead 2013 Review

Evil Dead 2013

Fede Alvarez, Rodo Sayagues, and Robert Tapert Evil Dead 2013 Set

One of the many movies that began my love for horror and makeup effects is Sam Raimi’s Evil Dead 2. The film is filled with non-stop action, over the top gore, and humor. It is a well blended horror smoothie that goes down smooth and leaves you wanting more. Even today it is still one of my all-time favorite movies. I didn’t visit the original until after I saw the second, which is also one of my favs to this day.

When I first heard about the remake I didn’t get all crazy, cursing at Bruce Campbell on twitter or slamming it out on the internet. After all, there are some remakes out there that I have actually enjoyed (okay one, Marcus Nispel’s Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake, can’t believe that was 10 years ago). So unlike most fans, I waited patiently, mouth shut, to see what new Director Fede Alvarez’s remake would be like.

Guy’s this movie is fucking incredible. It’s not like watching a remake at all. The film stands on it’s own. Fede Alvarez took that well blended smoothie, added some fuckin thorns, rocks, guts, cats, babies, insects, and bones into the mix.

evil dead 2013

Jane Levy sitting on Sam Raimi’s favorite car on set of the Evil Dead remake

The movie’s plot differs slightly from the original, it brings together a group of friends to help a drug addict get straight, so there’s a deeper motive to go to the cabin. With the main character Mia (played amazingly by Jane Levy) going through withdrawals, everyone thinks all the weird shit she is seeing is just part of the side effects until it starts happening to them.

The cast is superb, the direction incredible, the cinematography stunning, and the makeup effects are un-fucking real. This is the goriest flick I have ever seen. Some think it’s a bit over the top when in actuality it fits perfectly with the overall tone of the film, which is played straight with no slapstick overtones. This is a horror movie folks and one that you need to see whether you are a horror fan or not. Fede has certainly gained a name as a director for this one. To be honest, I wouldn’t mind if they killed the original series and just continued the series with this one, because we have all needed a good straight up horror flick for many years. Hopefully, with the sequel they wont dumb it down to a PG-13, which is the trend these days.

Hats off to Fede Alvarez, Bruce Campbell, Sam Raimi, and Robert Tapert for bringing us the best horror flick of the decade.

Cool poster Evil Dead 2013

Cool poster Evil Dead 2013

One thought on “Hollywood How to Remake A Movie: Evil Dead 2013 Review

  1. I respectfully disagree my good man.

    While I thought the remake certainly did some things well I just felt like the second half sort of trailed off. I mean I LOVED the idea that Mia was there to kick drugs! Fucking great set up. Unfortunately it just seemed like once the gore started it stopped being scary to me unlike the original Evil Dead which just keeps increasing the intensity as it gets closer to the end. I mean once Ash is left alone that movie is just completely fantastic as he travels to the eerie basement confronts the mirror and finally fights his re-animated pals which then explode into nasty ghoulish hands. This Evil Dead just didn’t have me on the edge of my seat like the original. That said I will be watching it again and maybe it will grab me more if I watch it alone instead of in a packed theater where I had a tough time just getting into it. Also David was so dumb in the remake haha and the loss of the hand seemed forced. Anyway I am glad you liked it so much and I’m glad to see my favorite Horror Franchise back from the dead but I’m holding out for Ash’s return to the series.

Leave a comment