Dark Skies Review

I love a good alien abduction movie. Makes you think if there is really anything out there and gives you something to think about. One of my favorites is Robert Lieberman’s Fire In The Sky, great flick!

Dark Skies review

My reviews are pretty easy-going. I like to be entertained, bottom line. I don’t analyze every shot, every line of dialogue, every effect. I used to shoot film in my younger years and know how hard it is to make a film. So I understand the hurdles and obstacles in making a film.

Dark Skies fails, and fails badly. Written and Directed by Scott Stewart (Priest was very enjoyable and entertaining) Dark Skies is just cliche’ after cliche’ after cliche’. This movie is basically a ghost story (Poltergeist comes to mind) with alien’s. Things are moved around at night when everyone is sleeping, strange drawings by the youngest child, hundreds of birds hitting the house, a creepy stranger who has all the answers, family pictures being taken out of their frames, a character stands outside with his mouth open in a silently scream (Invasion of the Body Snatchers style) blah blah blah. It’s hard to believe that an alien race that wants to do experiments on us and eventually abduct us would steal family pictures, stack items up in the kitchen, or make us see things that aren’t there.

I don’t know about you but if I walked into my son’s room and saw a figure standing over his bed then instantly he’s outside walking around when all the doors locked and the alarm wasn’t tripped, he’d be sleeping with me from then on.

Keri Russell in Dark Skies

There is a twist ending, though it’s not much of a twist, we see it coming after the meeting with the stranger.  It just seemed like Stewart attempted to make us go oooh at the end, which doesn’t work here.

This film has little to be desired. The only redeeming qualities were Stars Keri Russell and Josh Hamilton, who did a great job for the script they were given and made the flick even watchable. There is nothing new to see here. If you’re looking for a great alien flick check out Fire In The Sky, or M. Night Shyamalan’s Signs.

-Chad Armstrong

Leave a comment